I have to admit it, cheesecake is one of my guilty pleasures. There’s nothing better than a slice of New York Cheesecake. It was my friends birthday this week and she also love cheesecake. I wanted to create something personal, a bit different, so combined my love of cheesecake and chocolate to come up with this whopper. I was worried about it being too sweet, but the icing sugar creates a perfect balance. Best of all, it is no bake and very easy, perfect for a last minute pudding.

Ingredients

250g digestives

75g butter

500g cream cheese (full fat)

1 jar of nutella (yes-a whole jar)

50g icing sugar

Method:

1. In a food processor, crumble the digestive biscuits. Melt the butter in a small saucepan then slowly add it to the biscuits, pulsing the machine as you go, until it looks like wet sand. Add 1 tbsp of the nutella into the mixtue and whizz again.

2.To create the base and straight sides, I removed the base of a 22cm springform tin. I then placed the side ring onto my serving plate. Tightly pack the sand mixture into the bottom, using either your hands or the back of a metal spoon to get into the corners. Put into the fridge to set.

3. For the filling, cream together the cream cheese and nutella. Slowly add the icing sugar (if you add it too fast it just goes everywhere). If using an electric hand whisk (I recommend it) it should take around 4 mins and start to look creamy and resemble a mouse.

4. Pour on top of the cooled biscuit base, smooth off with a  palette knife. I sprinkled white chocolate chips over mine, but you can add whatever suits. From dried fruit to toasted hazelnuts.

5. Leave in the fridge to set for at least 4 hours (ideally overnight). When removing the outer ring, go round the edge with a palette knife to ensure none of it gets stuck. It maybe tempting, but only remove the ring just before serving. It keeps nicely in the fridge for 5 days.

Enjoy!

Image

this recipe has been adapted from Nigella Lawson 

